SOURCE: Universal Music Enterprises

Universal Music Enterprises

April 04, 2012 09:00 ET

UMe Releases New Set of Limited Edition Vinyl From ABBA, Pete Townshend, James Brown, Mynah Birds, and Soundtracks Pretty In Pink, The Breakfast Club and Empire Records for National "Record Store Day" on April 21, 2012

SANTA MONICA, CA--(Marketwire - Apr 4, 2012) - With the worldwide success of "Record Store Day" and lines of vinyl enthusiasts at local independent record stores wrapping around the block, waiting to snatch up all the latest titles, on April 21, 2012, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) pushes out its new batch of limited edition Back-To-Black vinyl releases as part of this year's "Record Store Day." Each release is individually numbered with a foil stamp and each title will be limited to 5000 copies, with the exception of ABBA with only 4000 being pressed. Included are titles by ABBA, Pete Townshend, James Brown, the Mynah Birds featuring Rick James and Neil Young, and the movie soundtracks for the generation-defining films The Breakfast Club, Pretty In Pink and Empire Records.

ABBA Maxi Single Vinyl 12"
In honor of this year's "Record Store Day," a new limited edition 12-inch vinyl ABBA single will be released on Saturday, April 21. Side A will feature the extended dance remix of "Voulez-Vous," originally released as a promo-only single in the United States and France, while side B will feature "If It Wasn't For The Nights." This special release will be pressed on blue-glitter vinyl, packaged in a cardboard sleeve and limited to 4,000 numbered copies. It will be available for sale exclusively in participating stores.

Pete Townshend - Quadrophenia Demos 2 (10" EP):
On "Black Friday" UMe released the first of two limited edition 10" vinyl EPs featuring six demos from the Who's Quadrophenia: Director's Cut box set. On April 21, 2012, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) will release the second part of the "Record Store Day" exclusive, limited edition 10" vinyl EP's featuring demo versions of "I've Had Enough," "Drowned," "Is It Me," "Dr. Jimmy" and "Love Reign O'er Me." The Quadrophenia Demos 2 10" EP is the last of a two-part vinyl set which, combined, encompasses 11 of the demos from the Quadrophenia: The Director's Cut box set, and provides a unique insight into the creation of one of the most widely recognized albums of the Who's career. Quadrophenia is known for its classic depiction of mod culture, its renowned imagery and the magnificent music and powerful performances.

James Brown - Live At The Apollo 50th Anniversary 7":
Ranked as one of the greatest live albums of all time, James Brown's Live At The Apollo celebrates its 50th anniversary this year. To commemorate this landmark release as part of a "Record Store Day" exclusive, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) will release a limited edition 7" vinyl single James Brown - Live At The Apollo 50th Anniversary featuring two previously unreleased tracks recorded at the Apollo in 1972: the upbeat and funky "There It Is" and "Pass The Peas," featuring Fred Wesley & the J.B.'s. These tracks will appear on the Live At The Apollo: 50th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition, including the legendary LPs Live At The Apollo Vols. I, II & III, plus the previously unreleased Vol. IV -- coming out later this year.

Mynah Birds: Rick "James" Matthews, Neil Young, Bruce Palmer, John Taylor and Rickman Mason 7":
The Mynah Birds were a Canadian band that signed to Motown in 1966, featuring as its lead singer a young Ricky Matthews, later the "King of Punk Funk" Rick James, and the future legend Neil Young as its lead guitar player. The Mynahs had recorded their first single when Rick was put in the brig for being AWOL from the military, forcing Motown to put the tracks back on the shelf. Young and Mynah's bassist Bruce Palmer left for L.A. and formed Buffalo Springfield. Originally only available on The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 6, and now available for the first time ever on vinyl, the songs "It's My Time" and "Go On And Cry" will debut as a limited edition 7" single.

This year marks the 50th Anniversary of A&M Records, the home to some of the most influential artists of the last 50 years including the Carpenters, the Police, Cat Stevens, Sting and Janet Jackson, plus contemporary artists such as Soundgarden, the Black Eyed Peas and Maroon 5. As part of its yearlong celebration, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) will issue three classic generation-defining A&M Records soundtracks -- The Breakfast Club, Pretty In Pink and, for the first time, Empire Records -- on limited edition vinyl as a Record Store Day exclusive.

The Breakfast Club Soundtrack 12" LP (White Vinyl)
No other director captured adolescents coming to age quite like John Hughes. His 1985 hit film The Breakfast Club centers around five students with very different backgrounds, stuck in detention and discovering they are not so different. The movie has become an all-time classic, defined a generation and continues to be rediscovered and connect with new audiences. The music plays a vital part and sets the mood throughout the movie with songs such as Simple Minds' "Don't You Forget About Me" which topped the charts in 1985 making them superstars. Other tracks include Wang Chung's "Man Leads The Way" from the famous hallway scene, Academy Award®-winning composer Keith Forsey's "I'm the Dude" (Instrumental) and Karla DeVito's unforgettable and infectious "We Are Not Alone." The Breakfast Club Soundtrack is pressed in limited edition white vinyl as a "Record Store Day" exclusive and is a feature title in Universal Pictures 100th Anniversary festivities this year.

Pretty In Pink Original Motion Picture Soundtrack - 25th Anniversary 12" LP (Pink Vinyl)
As important as the movie itself, the music used in a film proves just as powerful, important and can freeze a moment in time like a mental snapshot, giving each generation its own identity. Like the film, music helped define who you were and what path your entire social life at school was going to take. Twenty-five years after its theatrical release, Pretty In Pink continues to resonate with each new generation experiencing the same hurdles and challenges of being young. The music on Pretty In Pink Soundtrack - 25th Anniversary sets the different moods and tones for the film with songs such as OMD's top 5 hit "If You Leave," the Smith's "Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want," Echo & the Bunnymen's anthem "Bring On The Dancing Horses" and the Psychedelic Furs' top 5 hit "Pretty In Pink." Fittingly, Pretty In Pink will be released on limited edition pink vinyl.

Empire Records Soundtrack (2-LP)
As the '80s came to an end, in ushered the '90s with many high school and young adults facing the similar issues of coming of age as generations before them. Once again, music takes center stage in the lives and drama of a motley group of teenagers and young adults working at a local independent record store as they cope with life's struggles. The Empire Records Soundtrack makes its debut on vinyl as a limited edition, 2-LP set pressed on orange vinyl and features Gin Blossoms' top 5 hit "Til I Hear It From You," the Cranberries' b-side "Liar," Edwyn Collins' retro-pop, fuzzed-out '90s hit "Girl Like You," "Whole Lotta Trouble" by alt-country pioneers Cracker and the Lemonheads' Evan Dando with his poignant version of Big Star's classic "Ballad of El Goodo."

For more information on Record Store Day, please visit: