SOURCE: Atlantic Records

May 24, 2010 16:28 ET

Uncle Kracker Goes to Nashville on New Release; "HAPPY HOUR - THE SOUTH RIVER ROAD SESSIONS" Highlighted by Country Version of the Platinum Certified Hit Single "Smile," Plus "Good To Be Me," Featuring New Vocals From Kid Rock; Detroit-Based Troubadour Set for CMT Music Awards and Performance at Annual CMA Music Festival; "HAPPY HOUR - THE SOUTH RIVER ROAD SESSIONS" Arrives on June 22nd

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - May 24, 2010) -  Top Dog/Atlantic recording artist Uncle Kracker has announced the upcoming release of "HAPPY HOUR - THE SOUTH RIVER ROAD SESSIONS." The 6-song release arrives in stores and at all DSPs on June 22nd.

"HAPPY HOUR - THE SOUTH RIVER ROAD SESSIONS" features reinterpretations of tracks originally found on Uncle Kracker's acclaimed 2009 album, "HAPPY HOUR," recorded in Nashville by producers Keith Stegall (Alan Jackson, Zac Brown Band, George Jones) and Rob Cavallo (Kid Rock). Among the highlights is a country version of the RIAA platinum certified single, "Smile," which reached #2 at Hot AC radio upon its initial release. Currently, "Smile" is approaching Top 25 at Country, with its companion video currently standing as both a top 5 smash on Great American Country's Top 20 Country Countdown and a top 20 rotation favorite at CMT.

The release also includes new renditions of "Good To Be Me" featuring guest vocals from longtime friend/songwriting partner Kid Rock (who also produced the track) and "Me Again," a touching duet with rising country singer Jesse Lee. Finally, "HAPPY HOUR - THE SOUTH RIVER ROAD SESSIONS" includes "Letter To My Daughters," a classic cut from Uncle Kracker's back catalogue specifically selected by the Detroit-based singer-songwriter for inclusion on this release (see track listing below).

Uncle Kracker is, of course, no stranger to the world of country music, having already topped Billboard's "Hot Country Songs" chart for five consecutive weeks with "When The Sun Goes Down," his 2004 collaboration with country superstar Kenny Chesney. In 2008, Uncle Kracker returned to the Country charts having co-written Kid Rock's smash "All Summer Long" which peaked at #3. What's more, Uncle Kracker has toured extensively with Chesney as both support act and special guest.

"I've always had a genuine passion for country. I think that audiences appreciate that, and that's why they're giving me a chance," Uncle Kracker explains. "Country music was one of the types of music I grew up with, so elements of it naturally come out in my songwriting. Listening to a lot of my songs -- all the way back to 'Follow Me' -- I feel like I've been making country music for years."

Next up, Uncle Kracker will celebrate the release of "HAPPY HOUR - THE SOUTH RIVER ROAD SESSIONS" with a visit to the 2010 CMT Music Awards, slated for broadcast Wednesday, June 9th on CMT (check local listings). He will then be among the star-studded line-up appearing in Nashville at the annual CMA Music Festival, scheduled for June 13th at the festival's Riverfront Park Stage. 

From there, the hard-traveling Uncle Kracker will embark on a summer-long tour that will include headline dates as well as shows at both music festivals and state and county fairs across America. For a complete itinerary and ticket information, please visit

Initially known for his role as DJ in Kid Rock's legendary Twisted Brown Trucker band, Uncle Kracker made a stunning solo debut with 2001's "DOUBLE WIDE." Fueled by the #1 smash, "Follow Me," the album exploded onto the Billboard 200's top 10 on its way to 2x-platinum certification from the RIAA.

"NO STRANGER TO SHAME" followed in 2002, highlighted by the top 10 Hot AC hit, "In A Little While," as well as Uncle Kracker's biggest solo single to date, a cover of Dobie Gray's classic "Drift Away." The track reached the top 10 on Billboard's "Hot 100" while also setting the record for most weeks at #1 on the AC chart, remaining atop the format's ranking for a remarkable 22 straight weeks.

2004's "SEVENTY TWO AND SUNNY" saw Uncle Kracker emphasizing his melodic songwriting and a unique stylistic synthesis of pop, rock, country, soul, blues, and even doo-wop. That same year saw "When The Sun Goes Down," the aforementioned duet with Kenny Chesney, reaching #1 on its way to becoming an RIAA gold certified country-pop crossover classic.

Uncle Kracker celebrated last September's release of "HAPPY HOUR" with a major US tour alongside Train, as well as a number of high-profile TV performances. Among them were visits to NBC's The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien, CBS' The Early Show Saturday Edition, and ABC's Live! With Regis and Kelly (as part of a special Las Vegas edition). The album version of "Smile" peaked at #2 on the Hot AC chart with the companion video becoming a fixture on the VH1 Top 20 Countdown.

Known to his parents as Matt Shafer, Uncle Kracker has also maintained his role as one of Kid Rock's closest friends and collaborators. His co-writing credits alongside the one and only Rock N Roll Jesus includes such blockbuster hits as "Bawitdaba," "Cowboy," "Forever," "Only God Knows Why," and 2008's #1 classic, "All Summer Long."

For further news and information, please visit or


(Top Dog/Atlantic)
In Stores and Online June 22nd

  1. Smile
  2. Good To Be Me (featuring Kid Rock)
  3. Me Again (featuring Jesse Lee)
  4. I'm Not Leaving
  5. Living The Dream
  6. Letter to My Daughters

Contact Information