SOURCE: Atlantic Records

November 01, 2011 14:29 ET

Uncle Kracker Invites Fans to His "Hometown"

Country-Pop Superstar Unveils New Single From His Eagerly Awaited 2012 Album

"My Hometown" Arrives on November 1st

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - Nov 1, 2011) - Top Dog/Atlantic recording artist Uncle Kracker has announced the upcoming release of his new single, "My Hometown." The track will be available at all leading digital retailers on November 1st.

"My Hometown" -- produced by Keith Stegall (known for his work with such country superstars as Zac Brown Band, Alan Jackson, and George Jones, as well as his previous collaboration with Uncle Kracker, 2010's "HAPPY HOUR - THE SOUTH RIVER ROAD SESSIONS") -- marks the first taste of Uncle Kracker's eagerly awaited new album. The as-yet-untitled collection is currently slated to arrive in 2012.

The new album is Uncle Kracker's first full-length release since 2009's hugely popular "HAPPY HOUR." Among the album's highlights is the 2x RIAA platinum certified smash hit, "Smile," which proved a Top 5 country radio blockbuster as well as one of 2010's best-selling country singles. "HAPPY HOUR - THE SOUTH RIVER ROAD SESSIONS" followed in 2010, featuring reinterpretations of tracks originally found on "HAPPY HOUR," recorded in Nashville by producers Keith Stegall and Rob Cavallo (Kid Rock).

Uncle Kracker has spent most of 2011 on the road with country superstar Kenny Chesney, hitting stadiums and arenas in nearly every major U.S. market, as well his own headline shows and benefit concerts supporting The Uncle Kracker Music Education Foundation. Last year saw the Detroit-based singer songwriter embark on a pair of cross-country headlining tours and a number of main-support dates with Jason Aldean. An array of shows -- including headline concerts and festival appearances -- are scheduled for the coming months. For complete details and ticket information, please visit

Initially known for his role as DJ in Kid Rock's legendary Twisted Brown Trucker band, Uncle Kracker made a stunning solo debut with 2001's "DOUBLE WIDE." Fueled by the #1 smash, "Follow Me," the album exploded onto the Billboard 200's top 10 on its way to 2x-platinum certification from the RIAA.

"NO STRANGER TO SHAME" followed in 2002, highlighted by the top 10 Hot AC hit, "In A Little While," as well as Uncle Kracker's biggest solo single to date, a cover of Dobie Gray's classic "Drift Away." The track reached the top 10 on Billboard's "Hot 100" while also setting the record for most weeks at #1 on the AC chart, remaining atop the format's ranking for a remarkable 28 straight weeks.

2004's "SEVENTY TWO AND SUNNY" saw Uncle Kracker emphasizing his melodic songwriting and a unique stylistic synthesis of pop, rock, country, soul, blues, and even doo-wop. That same year also saw Uncle Kracker topping Billboard's "Hot Country Songs" chart for five consecutive weeks with "When The Sun Goes Down," his RIAA gold certified collaboration with country superstar Kenny Chesney. In 2008, he revisited to the Country charts having co-written Kid Rock's Top 3 smash "All Summer Long."

Uncle Kracker returned with the 2009 release of "HAPPY HOUR," which features the multi-format smash, "Smile." In addition to its Country radio success, the album's version of "Smile" peaked at #2 on the Hot AC chart, while its companion video was a top 5 success on Great American Country's Top 20 Country Countdown and a fixture on the VH1 Top 20 Countdown.

In addition to his countless live appearances, Uncle Kracker has made a number of high-profile TV performances, including NBC's The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien, CBS' The Early Show Saturday Edition, and ABC's Live! With Regis and Kelly (as part of a special Las Vegas edition). Recent highlights include Fox's first annual American Country Awards celebration, as well as a joint performance with Kid Rock on the ABC special, CMA Music Fest: Country's Night To Rock.

Known to his parents as Matt Shafer, Uncle Kracker has also maintained his role as one of Kid Rock's closest friends and collaborators. Together, they've co-written such blockbuster hits as "Bawitdaba," "Cowboy," "Forever," "Only God Knows Why," and 2008's #1 classic, "All Summer Long."

For further news and information, please visit

Contact Information