SOURCE: U.S. Conference of Mayors

U.S. Conference of Mayors

March 09, 2017 14:37 ET

U.S. Conference of Mayors Delegation to Participate in South by Southwest

Austin, TX - March 10 - March 19

WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwired - March 09, 2017) - Under the leadership of U.S. Conference of Mayors President, Oklahoma City Mayor Mick Cornett, a delegation of U.S. mayors from across the country will travel to Austin, TX to participate in South by Southwest, a conference and festival featuring the convergence of original music, independent films, and emerging technologies. Fostering creative and professional growth alike, SXSW® is the premier destination for discovery and continues to be the launching pad for new creative content.

Mayors maintain that cities and metro areas are the economic engines of the nation, they are where the majority of the people in this country live, and they are the homes to American creativity and innovation. Thus, while in Austin, mayors will participate in the government track and serve as panelists in several interactive discussions focused on delivering better services for their citizens, the intersection of government and technology, and how to solve local challenges and advance the quality of life for city and metropolitan area residents.

WHO: Oklahoma City (OK) Mayor Mick Cornett, USCM President
  New Orleans (LA) Mayor Mitch Landrieu, USCM Vice President
  + Mayors from across the country
WHEN: Friday, March 10, 2017 to Sunday, March 19, 2017
WHERE: Hilton Austin Hotel | 500 E 4th St | Austin, TX 78701 | (512) 482-8000

NOTE: Mayors ARE available for interview while in Austin. Please contact David Burns at to arrange.

Mayors slated to attend (subject to change):

Oklahoma City (OK) Mayor Mick Cornett, USCM President
New Orleans (LA) Mayor Mitchell J. Landrieu, USCM Vice President
Rochester Hills (MI) Mayor Bryan K. Barnett
Albuquerque (NM) Mayor Richard J. Berry
Salt Lake City (UT) Mayor Jackie Biscupski
Washington (DC) Mayor Muriel Bowser
West Sacramento (CA) Mayor Christopher L. Cabaldon
Orlando (FL) Mayor Buddy Dyer
Louisville (KY) Mayor Greg Fischer
Long Beach (CA) Mayor Robert Garcia
Santa Fe (NM) Mayor Javier Gonzales
Denver (CO) Mayor Michael B. Hancock
Akron (OH) Mayor Daniel Harrigan
Kansas City (MO) Mayor Sylvester 'Sly' James, Jr.
Philadelphia (PA) Mayor James Kenney
San Jose (CA) Mayor Sam Liccardo
Madison (WI) Mayor Paul Soglin
Phoenix (AZ) Mayor Greg Stanton

The U.S. Conference of Mayors is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. There are nearly 1,400 such cities in the country today, and each city is represented in the Conference by its chief elected official, the mayor. Like us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter at

Contact Information