Veterans Affairs Canada

Veterans Affairs Canada

May 30, 2006 16:37 ET

VAC: Distinguished Canadians to be Recognized

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - May 30, 2006) - The Honourable Greg Thompson, Minister of Veterans Affairs, today released the names of 69 Canadians, mostly Veterans, who will receive the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation in 2006. The individuals are located in each of the ten provinces as well as the territory of Nunavut.

"These individuals have distinguished themselves with a devotion to the welfare of their fellow Veterans and to the betterment of their community," said Minister Thompson. "These men and women gave so much of themselves years ago in the cause for peace and freedom and they continue to give today. I look forward to meeting each and every one of them and hearing their stories".

The candidates share a wide variety of expertise and experience. Many are Second World War Veterans and Korean War Veterans who continue to serve their comrades whether it be assisting them in applying for disability pensions, visiting them in a hospital or home, or helping to raise funds for memorials and commemorative parks. There are candidates whose parents served in the Second World War and who have chosen to honour their memory by doing good works in their community. Two are teachers who have inspired their students to learn more about Canada's military history. There are candidates who have helped educate others on the contribution of Aboriginal Veterans; many others have spent countless hours in schools speaking to students about the contribution and sacrifice of those who served during times of war.

The Commendation is awarded to individuals who have contributed to the care and well-being of Veterans and to the remembrance of their contributions, sacrifice and achievements. It is intended primarily for Veterans, but in rare circumstances may also be awarded to non-Veterans. The Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation consists of a bar, which can be worn below official decorations on the Veteran's blazer, a lapel pin for civilian wear and a certificate.

The following individuals will receive the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation during ceremonies to be held across the country in the coming months:

John Ford - St. John's, NL
James Kennedy - St. John's, NL
James Shields - St. John's NL
Leslie White - Grand Falls-Windsor, NL
Greg Gallant - Bunbury, PE
Terrance Bobbitt - Halifax, NS
John Burke - Truro, NS
Charles Murphy - Westville, NS
George Nash - Glace Bay, NS
Joseph Sparrow - Glace Bay, NS
Ronald Hawkins (posthumous) - Northampton, NB
Robert Jones - Hampton, NB
Paul Morrison (posthumous) -
Woodstock, NB
Helen Bolton-Guy - Montreal, QC
Jean-Louis Bonhomme - Pointe Claire, QC
Maxine Bredt - Hudson Heights, QC
Pierre Bruneau - Champlain, QC
Bernard Pepin - Montreal, QC
Douglas Sample - St. Laurent, QC
Eli Aucoin - Borden, ON
Lionel Bourcier - Espanola, ON
Clint Bowerman - Espanola, ON
Glenn Brown - Peterborough, ON
George Burrows - Brampton, ON
John Cain - London, ON
John Clarry - Toronto, ON
Ian Douglas - Toronto, ON
John Eden - Trenton, ON
John Gooch - Ottawa, ON
Howard Gorle - Hamilton, ON
Duncan Graham - Toronto, ON
John Greenfield - Bowmanville, ON
Nancy Hamer-Strahl - Port Perry, ON
Bill Harris - Richmond Hill, ON
Derrill Henderson - Ottawa, ON
John Kennedy - Alliston, ON
William Lee - Sudbury, ON
William Lilly - Petawawa, ON
Paul Manson - Ottawa, ON
Neil McKinnon - Midhurst, ON
Myles Penny - Thunder Bay, ON
Arthur Plumb (posthumous) -
Toronto, ON
Leonard Proteau - Niagara Falls, ON
Ray Rogers - Sarnia, ON
Roy Rogers (posthumous)-
London, ON
Blake Seward - Smiths Falls, ON
Fred Skinner - Niagara Falls, ON
Joseph Sullivan - Peterborough, ON
Albert Wallace - Toronto, ON
William Bell - Winnipeg, MB
Harvey Friesen - Winkler, MB
Louis Mourant - Winnipeg, MB
Harry Tucker - Winnipeg, MB
Howard (posthumous) & Marcella Epoch - Moose Jaw, SK
Wilfred Leach - Nippawin, SK
John McKay - Dundurn, SK
Ed Borchert - Calgary AB
Russell Jasper - Cochrane, AB
Gordon King - Edmonton, AB
Jack Anderson - Kelowna, BC
Ted Brothers (posthumous), Nanaimo, BC
Barbara Duncan - Victoria, BC
Joan Holland - Surrey, BC
John Keresman - Mission, BC
George McLean - Burnaby, BC
Herbert Merrett - Vancouver, BC
Douglas Warren - Comox, BC
Hill Wilson - Victoria, BC
Peter Irniq - Iqaluit, NU

For information on the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation Award, an image of the Award and citations for past recipients, please visit the Veterans Affairs Canada Web site at

Contact Information

  • Veterans Affairs Canada
    Pamela Price
    Media Relations Advisor
    (902) 368-0294
    Office of the Minister of Veterans
    Gerald A. Lefebvre
    Director of Communications
    (613) 996-4649