Veterans Affairs Canada

Veterans Affairs Canada

May 16, 2008 11:31 ET

Veterans Affairs Minister Honours Ontario Citizens

KITCHENER, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 16, 2008) - Fifteen citizens of Ontario were honoured today for their commitment and devotion to Veterans. The Honourable Greg Thompson, Minister of Veterans Affairs, presented the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation to the individuals during a ceremony today in Kitchener.

"Some of the people we honour today are Veterans; others are civilians." said Minister Thompson. "The common thread among these individuals is the tremendous contribution they are making to the lives of our most deserving citizens - our Veterans."

Minister Thompson presented the Commendation to the following individuals:

John (Rae) Abernethy, Bowmanville Gordon Leech, Barrie
William Bettridge, Brampton Bruce Melanson, Etobicoke
William Burrell, Brampton Carl Arthur Mills, Toronto
Frank Caldwell, Hamilton (posthumous) Ernest Nadjiwan, Wiarton
William Eisan, Hamilton David K. Robinson, Seagrave
Arthur Fyles, Toronto Reverend L. Darrell B. Shaule,
Hilda Harris, Toronto William A. Webster, London
Jack Hetherington, London

The Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation consists of a bar, which can be worn below official decorations on a Veteran's blazer, a lapel pin for civilian wear and a certificate.

It is presented to individuals who have contributed to the care and well-being of Veterans and to the remembrance of their contributions, sacrifices and achievements. It is intended primarily for Veterans, but in some circumstances may also be awarded to non-Veterans. Nominations may be submitted by the public at any time and are reviewed annually by an advisory committee.

More information on the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation, including citations for the fifteen recipients, can be found on the Veterans Affairs Canada Web site at

Contact Information

  • Veterans Affairs Canada
    Janice Summerby
    Media Relations Advisor
    Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    Richard Roik
    Director of Communications