May 16, 2011 08:00 ET

VHA Inc. Recognizes 28 Hospitals for Clinical Excellence

IRVING, TX--(Marketwire - May 16, 2011) - VHA Inc., a national health care network, has honored 28 hospitals for meeting or exceeding national performance standards for clinical care and efforts to improve the patient experience. The winners of the 2011 VHA Leadership Award for Clinical Excellence were announced today at VHA's Annual Leadership Conference in San Diego.

The VHA Leadership Award for Clinical Excellence is given annually to recognize organizations that achieve top performance on the clinical core measures established and tracked by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and in the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Health Providers and Services (HCAHPS) survey that measures patient satisfaction at hospitals across the country.

The 2011 VHA Leadership Award winners for clinical excellence are:

Bed size greater than 250

  • Presbyterian Hospital, Charlotte, NC
  • Doctors Hospital, Coral Gables, FL
  • Forsyth Medical Center, Winston Salem, NC
  • Parkwest Medical Center, Knoxville, TN
  • Mayo Clinic's campus in Florida
  • The Brigham & Women's Hospital Inc., Boston, MA
  • North Mississippi Medical Center, Tupelo, MS
  • Methodist Medical Center of Oak Ridge, TN

Bed size less than 250

  • Baylor Jack & Jane Hamilton Heart & Vascular Hospital, Dallas, TX
  • The Heart Hospital Baylor Plano, Plano, TX
  • Mariners Hospital, Tavernier, PA
  • Community Memorial Hospital, Hamilton, NY
  • Zeeland Community Hospital, Zeeland, MI
  • Oaklawn Hospital, Marshall, MI
  • Sutter Davis Hospital, Davis, CA
  • Rowan Regional Medical Center, Salisbury, NC
  • Schneck Medical Center, Seymour, IN
  • Missouri Baptist Hospital of Sullivan, Sullivan, MO

Critical Access Hospitals

  • Millinocket Regional Hospital, Millinocket, ME
  • Essentia Health - Fosston, Fosston, MN
  • Monadnock Community Hospital, Petersborough, NH
  • Redington-Fairview General Hospital, Skowhegan, ME
  • River Falls Area Hospital, River Falls, WI
  • Red Cedar Medical Center - Mayo Health System, Menomonie, WI
  • Gunnison Valley Hospital, Gunnison, CO
  • Tipton Hospital, Tipton, IN
  • Waldo County General Hospital, Belfast, ME
  • Houlton Regional Hospital, Houlton, ME

"The VHA Leadership Award for Clinical Excellence recognizes hospitals that provide consistently high levels of clinical care for their patients and that emphasize the importance of improving the patient experience," said Trent Haywood, MD, JD, chief medical officer at VHA. "These award-winning hospitals have clearly demonstrated an organizational commitment to look at the organizational practices, organizational structures and relationships that support performance improvement."

VHA serves more than 1,350 not-for-profit hospitals and more than 30,000 non-acute health care providers nationwide. By recognizing these award winning institutions, VHA hopes that other hospitals and health systems will apply these leading practices to identify ways to improve patient care and drive clinical excellence within their own organizations.

For more information on VHA, go to

About VHA
VHA Inc., based in Irving, Texas, is a national network of not-for-profit health care organizations that work together to drive maximum savings in the supply chain arena, set new levels of clinical performance and identify and implement best practices to improve operational efficiency and clinical outcomes. In 2010, VHA delivered record savings and value of $1.7 billion to members. Formed in 1977, VHA serves nearly 1,350 not-for-profit hospitals and more than 30,000 non-acute care providers nationwide, coordinating delivery of its programs and services through its 16 regional offices. VHA has been listed as one of the best places to work in health care by Modern Healthcare since 2008 and one of the best places to work in IT by Computer World since 2007.

Contact Information