SOURCE: Circle 4 Entertainment

Circle 4 Entertainment

September 02, 2016 19:41 ET

VMI Worldwide and Circle 4 Entertainment's Political Satire Swing State to Open Downtown Film Festival L.A. on Sept. 21 at Regal Cinema L.A. LIVE

Current Truth-Stranger-Than-Fiction Political Climate Captured Brilliantly in Sharp, Searing Comedy Written and Directed by Jonathan Sheldon

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwired - Sep 2, 2016) - Searing political satire Swing State will open the 8th annual edition of the Downtown Film Festival Los Angeles (DTLA Film Fest) Sept. 21-28 at Regal Cinemas L.A. LIVE.

Swing State skewers the failings of the democratic election process and the willful ignorance of some American voters. The film follows the crazy journey of an unsuccessful liberal DJ who invents a fictitious conservative radio personality and skyrockets himself to overnight stardom.

"This politically incorrect comedy could not have been better timed, given the absolutely insane presidential race we're now witnessing," said Jay Kurani, Swing State executive producer. "Some might even say that our film's premise may hit even closer to home than people would like to admit, but we think this sharp and funny take on extreme partisan politics will really resonate with audiences."

Written and directed by Jonathan Sheldon, the ensemble comedy stars Alex Beh (Warren), Taryn Manning (Orange Is The New Black), Billy Zane (Titanic), Sean Astin (The Lord Of The Rings), Angela Kinsey (The Office), Shane Black (The Nice Guys), and Elaine Hendrix (Sex&Drugs&Rock&Roll). Swing State also features Helene Wren (American Brawler), Harriet Divine (New Life), Jake Busey (Deserted), Nick Loeb (Precious Cargo), Lydia Hearst (Two For One), Parry Shen (Snowpiercer), Richard Riehle (Office Space), Richard Portnow (Trumbo), Mark L. Young (Dirty Lies), Arthur L. Bernstein (Walt Before Mickey) and Adam Falkoff (American Brawler).

Sheldon produces with Adam Falkoff, Doug Magallon, Kenneth Prieto, Diego Espana and Brian Finn. Jay Kurani, Andre Relis, Jeff Rice, Arthur L. Bernstein, Alan Marino and Brigitte Mueller are executive producers. Michael Planit is an associate producer.

Contact Information