SOURCE: The Walrus Foundation

The Walrus Foundation

November 10, 2016 08:35 ET

The Walrus Foundation's National Tour -- The Walrus Talks Conversations about Canada: We Desire a Better Country

Tickets Available Now -- 13 cities, 13 provinces and territories, 13 weeks -- March 1 - June 1, 2017

TORONTO, ON--(Marketwired - November 10, 2016) - The Walrus Foundation today announced that tickets are available for the Walrus Talks Conversations about Canada:We Desire a Better Country, a Signature Initiative of the 150th anniversary of Canada's Confederation.The tour will run from March 1 to June 1, 2017 with Walrus Talks in Whitehorse, Yellowknife, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Iqaluit, St. John's, Charlottetown, Fredericton, Halifax, Surrey, Banff, Toronto, and Montreal.

Tickets are free* and available now at on a first-come-first-served basis. Seats must be reserved, and seating is limited.

The charitable, non-profit Walrus Foundation, in partnership with the Order of Canada and Canada 150, will present an extraordinary national tour focusing on the future of our country and featuring fifty members of the Order of Canada and fifty youth leaders.

The Walrus Talks Conversations about Canada: We Desire a Better Country will visit every province and territory, and each event** will feature eight speakers: four youth leaders and four members of the Order of Canada. The Order of Canada, one of our country's highest honours, recognizes people who make extraordinary contributions to the nation and will mark its fiftieth anniversary in 2017. Its motto, DESIDERANTES MELIOREM PATRIAM (They Desire a Better Country), inspired this tour.

Order of Canada participants include Margaret Atwood, Graham Greene, Adrienne Clarkson, Clara Hughes, John Ralston Saul, Deepa Mehta, Raffi Cavoukian, Susan Aglukark, Shelagh Rogers, Atom Egoyan, Tom Jackson, David Adams Richards, Rick Hansen, Margaret McCain, Charlotte Gray, Molly Johnson, Julie Payette, Murray McLauchlan, Sheila Watt-Cloutier, Samantha Nutt, Charles Pachter, Aaju Peter, Bob McDonald, Paulette Bourgeois, and Douglas Cardinal.

We also have an incredible line-up of youth leaders: Mustafa Ahmed, Ariel Garten, Jessica Bolduc, Jordan Tannahill, Kyla Kakfwi Scott, Amanda Parris, Alika Lafontaine, Anubha Momin, Syrus Marcus Ware, Cliff van der Linden, Caro Loutfi, Michael Redhead Champagne, Jay Pitter, Aaron Mills, and Sadia Rafiquddin

Along with the Government of Canada and the Order of Canada, our Signature Sponsors include TD, CBC Radio and CBC Aboriginal, CN, Enbridge, Labatt, the Rideau Hall Foundation, Rethink, Suncor, and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. CBC Radio and CPAC will be our broadcast partners for the tour and will broadcast or podcast content on radio and digital platforms. The Walrus Foundation will live stream these events on its platforms.

Partners of the national tour include Action Canada, College and Institutes Canada, the Arctic Inspiration Prize, Community Foundations of Canada, Fulbright Canada, the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards, Hart House, the Hnatyshyn Foundation, the Inspirit Foundation, Indspire, the Jeanne Sauvé Foundation, LandMarks2017, the Next 36, OneFiveOh, Ontario Centres of Excellence, Queen Elizabeth Scholars, Reel Canada, the Royal Canadian Navy, Samara, Canada C3, Sesqui, the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation, the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship, Via Rail, Youth4Music.

This landmark tour is a unique opportunity for all Canadians to celebrate the 150th anniversary of Confederation with the people, ideas, and conversations that will shape the future of Canada for the next 150 years.

* Please note that the event in Montreal is a luncheon, and there is a ticket price.

** In addition to the thirteen talks, there is a special Walrus Talk on a train between Ottawa and Montreal that also has a ticket price.

Image Available:
Image Available:

Embedded Video Available: