Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

December 18, 2006 16:00 ET

Wendake Designated a 2007 Cultural Capital of Canada

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Dec. 18, 2006) - On behalf of the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Status of Women, the Honourable Josee Verner, Minister of International Cooperation and Minister for La Francophonie and Official Languages, today announced that the Huron-Wendat Nation of Wendake, Quebec, has been designated a 2007 Cultural Capital of Canada, in the less than 50,000 population category. Comox Valley, British Columbia; Edmonton, Alberta; Baie-Saint-Paul, Quebec, and Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan have also been named Cultural Capitals for 2007.

"Canada's New Government is dedicated to enriching the lives of Canadians by supporting projects that increase their access to the arts and culture," said Minister Oda. "The Cultural Capitals of Canada Program celebrates the unique character of Canadian municipalities and recognizes the important role they play in highlighting the richness and diversity of our culture."

"I'm proud that this community has been recognized for its commitment to nurturing arts and culture as a part of life here in Wendake," said Minister Verner.

Located 10 kilometres north of the city of Quebec, Wendake has a strong sense of place, and this is reflected in its cultural programming. Carrefour des Nations, a festival of contemporary Aboriginal arts and culture, will showcase the First Nations artists and their unique culture. There will also be theatrical productions, exhibitions, literary readings, musical performances, and a traditional pow-wow, which will include exchanges with First Nations from around the world. These initiatives will leave a lasting legacy as a testimony to Wendake's commitment to the arts and culture.

The Cultural Capitals of Canada awards recognize the achievements of communities that demonstrate an ongoing commitment to the arts and culture. Funding is awarded for special projects that celebrate arts and culture and create a cultural legacy for the community. The Huron-Wendat Nation of Wendake could receive a contribution of up to $500,000.

An independent advisory committee, composed of the mayors of the 2006 Cultural Capitals of Canada and experts in the arts and culture fields, unanimously recommended the communities to be designated to Minister Oda.

Canadian municipalities and First Nations, Inuit, and Metis communities can apply to this program. The Department is currently evaluating applications for the 2008 and 2009 awards. The application deadline for the 2010 Cultural Capitals of Canada awards is October 15, 2007.

A list of all applicant communities, a summary of the projects of the designated communities, and the maximum possible funding they can receive can be found on the Department of Canadian Heritage website at under Media Room.

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Status of Women
    Chisholm Pothier
    Director of Communications
    Minister of International Cooperation ad Minister for
    La Francophonie and Official Languages
    Nicole Lascelle
    Director of Communications
    Canadian Heritage
    Donald Boulanger
    A/Chief, Media Relations