Westbridge Energy Corporation

Westbridge Energy Corporation

December 23, 2014 08:25 ET

Westbridge Provides Update From Annual General Meeting

VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - Dec. 23, 2014) - Westbridge Energy Corporation (TSX VENTURE:WEB)(OTC PINK:WEGYF)(FRANKFURT:PUQ1) ("Westbridge" or the "Company") reports on the results from its annual general meeting of shareholders held on Friday, December 19th, 2014. At the meeting, the shareholders elected three new members to the Company's board of directors, re-appointed the current auditors, Davidson & Company LLP, Chartered Accountants, and approved the renewal of the Company's Stock Option Plan.

Election of Directors

At the meeting, the Company's shareholders elected six directors, including the following new directors:

Darren Collins

Mr. Collins has been President and Chief Executive of Westbridge since December 1, 2014. Prior thereto, he was Vice-President Business Development of the Company from January 2014 to December 2014 and an advisor to the Company from August 2013 to January 2014. Mr. Collins is a financial professional focused on extractive industries globally and has over eight years of experience as an investor, advisor and executive of public companies. Prior to joining the Company, Mr. Collins was professionally engaged by a number of advisory and investment firms, including Alegro Capital, LP in London, England, and Dalvay Capital Inc., Scotia Capital Inc. and Quest Capital Corp. (currently Sprott Resource Lending Corp.) in Toronto, Canada. While engaged by these companies, Mr. Collins has been involved in upwards of a billion dollars of transactions, spanning mergers and acquisitions, debt and equity financings, and joint venture partnerships. Mr. Collins holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Dalhousie University.

Mark Monaghan

Mr. Monaghan is a financial professional focused on extractive industries internationally and has over 20 years of corporate finance and corporate development experience. Over his career, Mr. Monaghan has helped raise over a billion dollars for public companies, primarily in the natural resource industry. Mr. Monaghan is currently a Director of CIMCO PCC Limited, an international asset management firm. Prior to his current position, he held senior positions with financial institutions including Alegro Capital, LP, TD Securities, Deacon Capital Corporation (currently Dundee Capital Markets), and Quest Capital Corp. (currently Sprott Resource Lending Corp.), as well as executive positions and board appointments with multiple public and private market issuers. Mr. Monaghan holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Queens University and a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Windsor.

Scott Kelly

Mr. Kelly is an adviser to Chief Executive Officers and management teams and has over 20 years of experience maximizing awareness for public companies in a variety of industries. He is currently President of Cabrana Capital Advisors Inc., a private strategic advisory consulting firm focused on emerging companies. Prior to founding such firm, Mr. Kelly was Senior Vice President of TMX Equicom Group Inc., where he guided strategic communications for numerous companies. Prior to its acquisition by the TMX Group, Mr. Kelly was a Partner, Director and Senior Vice President of The Equicom Group Inc., Canada's largest and most successful investor relations firm. Mr. Kelly sits on the Development Committee of Ronald McDonald House Toronto and has served as director of numerous private and public company boards of directors. He currently serves as a director of Giyani Gold Corp. and Canoe Mining Ventures Corp., both exchange listed companies. Mr. Kelly holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Queen's University.

The Company's Board of Directors is now comprised of Darren Collins, Mark Frewin, Scott Kelly, Paul Larkin, Michael Looney and Mark Monaghan. The new directors replaced Tosan Omatsola, Kevin Everingham and Peter Henry. The Board would like to thank Messrs. Omatsola, Everingham and Henry for their respective years of service as directors of Westbridge and wish them well in their future endeavors.

Grant of Stock Options

Westbridge announces the granting of incentive stock options to certain of its new directors to purchase up to an aggregate of 150,000 common shares in its capital stock at a price of $0.05 per share, exercisable for a period of five years.

On behalf of Westbridge Energy Corporation

Darren Collins, President and Chief Executive Officer

Neither TSX Venture Exchange nor its Regulation Services Provider (as that term is defined in the policies of the TSX Venture Exchange) accepts responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of this release.

Contact Information