CPRS Manitoba

CPRS Manitoba

January 26, 2010 11:13 ET

Who Is the Next Manitoba Communicator of the Year?

CPRS Manitoba joins Marketwire in hosting third annual award

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwire - Jan. 26, 2010) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this Press Release.

The Manitoba chapter of the Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) is inviting nominations for its third annual Manitoba Communicator of the Year Award, presented by Marketwire (www.Marketwire.com).

The organization established the award to honour individuals or organizations that have demonstrated excellence in public communications in business, politics, entertainment, non-profits, or the community at large.

Last year, Heather Plett of the Canadian Foodgrains Bank took home the title for her work promoting her Winnipeg-based humanitarian effort nationally and internationally. She followed inaugural winners Gail Asper and Kim Jasper who won for their efforts to promote The Canadian Museum for Human Rights.

"In our first two years, we have received dozens of highly qualified entries for the award. We expect this year's award to be just as competitive," says Adam Dooley, past president of the Manitoba CPRS chapter. "Last year's economic slowdown forced public relations professionals to become even more creative, and the need for solid communications strategies became even more apparent in both the public and private sectors."

"Nominees, or self-nominees, can be communications professionals, CEOs, community leaders or grassroots activists," says Dooley. The nominees will be evaluated on the overall strategy, scope, and results of a campaign.

"Creativity is vital for communicators to get messages across credibly and honestly, but equally important is when the message results in significant contributions to the community," said Gail Granger, chair of the award's judging committee. "We're very proud to be able to recognize the best in our profession."

The Communicator of the Year will be selected by a panel of senior CPRS Manitoba members. The winner will be introduced at a gala luncheon on March 24, 2009 at the Fort Garry Hotel in Winnipeg. This year the gala will also offer a program of professional workshops during the morning covering key aspects of working with social media in public relations.

The event is made possible through the generosity of principal sponsor, Marketwire. Nomination, workshop, and luncheon ticket information are online at www.cprs.mb.ca. Deadline for nominations is Friday, February 19, 2009.

Communicating with Social Media Workshops

Kicking off the Communicator of the Year celebrations is a special morning of professional development with workshops on incorporating social media into communications campaigns: "Intimate mass media communications – Incorporating social media into PR."

The sessions are an educational opportunity for anyone who wants to refine and polish the way their organizations are using social media to interact with clients, customers and stakeholders. CPRS Manitoba has assembled leading experts including Keith Bilous, President of ICUC Moderation (www.ICUCModeration.com), one of the world's largest online content moderation firms. ICUC helps top brands around the world – including Molson, Dove, MuchMusic and Microsoft – to safeguard their reputations in an arena with few rules and constant surprises.

CPRS Manitoba

As the leading professional association for communicators in the province, CPRS Manitoba includes members from corporations, public relations agencies, government departments and non-profits. Members represent a wide variety of fields, ranging from agriculture and health care, to financial services and manufacturing.

For more information on the award, see the website www.cprs.mb.ca.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20100126-coy126LG.jpg

Contact Information