SOURCE: Elektra Records

December 14, 2011 14:11 ET

Wolf Gang Sets U.S. Release of "SUEGO FAULTS"; Multi-Talented British Artist's Acclaimed Debut Album Features Top 5 Sirius XM Smash Single, "The King And All Of His Men"; "SUEGO FAULTS" Now Available for Pre-Order; Arrives at All Digital Retailers on December 20th

NEW YORK, NY--(Marketwire - Dec 14, 2011) - Elektra Records has announced the domestic digital release of "SUEGO FAULTS," the acclaimed debut album from Wolf Gang. The album -- which features the hit single, "The King And All Of His Men" -- will be available at all U.S.-based digital retailers on December 20th and is now available for pre-order via iTunes (

A top 5 favorite on SiriusXM's "Alt Nation," "The King And All Of His Men" is currently available at iTunes. The song's official video is now streaming on Elektra's YouTube channel ( Additionally, 30-second clips from each track on "Suego Faults" are now streaming at

Recently named one of the "100 Best Things In The World Right Now," by GQ UK, Wolf Gang has proven a proper sensation in his native United Kingdom. The album sees this enigmatic artist -- known to friends and family as Max McElligott -- furthering his romantic, surreal, and imaginative sound on tracks such as "Planets" and the UK hit single, "Lions In Cages" (full tracklisting below). "SUEGO FAULTS" was co-produced by the legendary Dave Fridmann (MGMT, The Flaming Lips, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah), who discovered Wolf Gang's original bedroom demo of "Lions In Cages" back in October 2010 and swiftly invited him to record at his world famous Tarbox Road Studios in upstate Cassadaga, New York.

"SUEGO FAULTS" has earned some of the year's most ecstatic critical plaudits. "Sparkling indie-pop zinging with class, energy and potential," declared NME in its 8.5-out-of-10 rave. The Guardian praised the collection for possessing "a grand orchestral sound, which is contrastingly paired with sunny tunefulness," while the Observer hailed Wolf Gang's "talent for melody and ease with elaborate, deliciously over-the-top arrangements."

Music Week pronounced "SUEGO FAULTS" to be "an ambitious, upbeat, gloriously Technicolor record that reveals plenty of ambition and songwriting talent," with Uncut declaring it to be "a sparkling set of songs that could threaten Coldplay's airplay dominance." The Independent applauded the album's "psychedelic vibrations and lithe melodies." In its four-starred review, the Evening Standard hailed McElligott as "the one-man renaissance of power pop." Perhaps Artrocker said it best in its five-out-of-five starred review: "From the first listen onwards, this album will make your head burst with excitement and the revelation that lightening has finally struck... 'SUEGO FAULTS' is a mille feuille of fondant pop juxtaposed with sass and intellect -- a creation of cerebrum-pleasing brilliance."

"SUEGO FAULTS" follows Wolf Gang's self-titled US debut EP, which earned instant applause as one of SPIN's "Next Big Things" upon its release earlier this year. McElligott has received a plethora of praise since releasing his 2009 debut single, "Pieces of You," including NME hailing him as "indie rock's best new songwriter." The Guardian applauded Wolf Gang's "shiny, tuneful arena-ready pop-rock," while the Times suggested McElligott's "addictive hooks and reverb-laden falsetto could soundtrack many a festival tent in 2011."

Inspired by the likes of Talking Heads, Roxy Music and David Bowie, as well as more contemporary artists such as Arcade Fire, Wolf Gang's sound packs in an abundance of suave panache, ear-thwacking beats and heart-throttling melodies. With an abundance of tours firmly under his belt -- including headline tours, support slots with Florence + The Machine, The Killers, Miike Snow, Metric, and The Naked And Famous, countless festival appearances (including our own SXSW), as well as topping the bill on the influential 2011 NME Radar Tour -- McElligott and his crack combo have quickly cultivated a dedicated and avid fan base. North American tour dates are currently slated for early 2012 -- full details will be announced soon.

For up-to-the-minute news and information, please visit,, and


Wolf Gang
US Digital Retailer Release Date: December 20th
  1. Lions In Cages
  2. Something Unusual
  3. Stay And Defend
  4. Suego Faults
  5. The King And All Of His Men
  6. Back To Back
  7. Midnight Dancers
  8. Dancing With The Devil
  9. Where Are You Now
  10. Planets

Contact Information