SOURCE: Washington Technology Industry Association

Washington Technology Industry Association

February 09, 2012 09:00 ET

WTIA Announces Finalists for 17th Annual Industry Achievement Awards

Winners to Be Announced via Awards Celebration on March 15th in Seattle

SEATTLE, WA--(Marketwire - Feb 9, 2012) - The Washington Technology Industry Association (WTIA) (, one of the largest statewide associations of technology companies, IT departments and individual technology professionals in North America, today announced the finalists for its 17th annual Industry Achievement Awards (IAA), which recognize the accomplishments of the best and brightest individuals and companies in the Washington state technology industry.

In addition to recognizing the state's best companies and organizations, the WTIA will honor the student Technology Leader of Tomorrow with a scholarship. In order to compete for the Technology Leader of Tomorrow scholarship, students in 6th through 8th grades who are participating in the Technology Access Foundation's TechStart program were tasked with developing and presenting their own video game. More information on the TechStart program can be found at, and community voting to select the winner is now underway at

There are six IAA categories for companies and individuals, including CEO of the Year, which is new this year. Winners will be chosen by a panel of technology leaders and announced at the awards ceremony on March 15, 2012 from 5:00 to 9:30 p.m. at the Showbox SODO in Seattle. For more information about the awards, or to register for the awards ceremony, visit

The IAA categories and respective finalists are:

  • Best Early Stage Company: Appature, BigDoor, GreenCupboards
  • Best Seed Stage Company: Simply Measured, Spiral Genetics, Zipline Games
  • Consumer Product or Service of the Year: DocuSign, Parallels, Zillow
  • Commercial Product or Service of the Year: EagleView Technologies, SEOMoz, Skytap
  • Technology Accelerator Award: Founder's Co-Op, Lighter Capital, Opscode
  • CEO of the Year: Ben Huh (Cheezburger), Steve Singh (Concur), Bryan Mistele (INRIX)

This year's Technology Leader of Tomorrow finalists are:

  • "Pablo's Underwater Adventure," Amanze Oleru (7th grade) and Joanna Wong (6th grade)
  • "The Skateboard King," Biruk Araya (8th grade) and Tyler Lam (6th grade)
  • "Get Rich," Gizan Gando (7th grade)

"We're fortunate to live and work in a state with such a diverse and vibrant technology community," said Susan Sigl, president and CEO of the WTIA. "These finalists represent the most creative and innovative companies and individuals in our industry and deserve the highest congratulations."

About the Washington Technology Industry Association
The Washington Technology Industry Association, founded in 1984, is one of the largest statewide associations of technology companies, IT departments and individual technology professionals in North America. With more than 1,000 members representing more than 125,000 employees in Washington State, the association is a catalyst for sharing expertise, fostering collaboration, delivering key business services and advancing the value and global impact of technology companies doing business in Washington. The association's corporate sponsors are F5 Networks, HTC, Microsoft, Moss Adams LLP, RealNetworks, Regence BlueShield, Vertafore and Wells Fargo Insurance Services. For more information, go to

Contact Information

  • Media Contact:
    Chris Warfield
    Sterling Communications for WTIA
    Email Contact